Dr. Eliran Subag

Department of Mathematics

Dr. Eliran Subag completed his BSc and MSc in electrical engineering, both summa cum laude at the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology in 2010 and 2013, respectively. He completed a PhD in mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science under the direction of Prof. Ofer Zeitouni in 2017. From 2017 until joining the faculty of the Weizmann Institute in 2020, Dr. Subag worked as a postdoctoral fellow at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University in the lab of Prof. Gérard Ben Arous.

Dr. Subag is interested in probability theory, in particular the theory of Gaussian fields and their geometry. Gaussian fields are a model of random functions, whose probability laws and theories can be useful for numerous applications in physics, computer science, and medical imaging. His doctoral work focused on spherical spin glasses — models of disordered magnetic systems, materials, or alloys that enable physicists and mathematicians understand the landscape of free energy and other phenomena. Combining tools from the theory of Gaussian fields, large deviations and random matrices, he studies the distribution of the critical points and asymptotic geometric structure of the thermodynamics spherical spin glass models, as the dimension tends to infinity, i.e. as the amount of data becomes too big to compute.

Dr. Subag was appointed a Junior Fellow in the Simons Society of Fellows. Among his academic and professional honors, Dr. Subag will receive the Sir Charles Clore Prize in 2020. He received the Nessyahu Prize of the Israel Mathematical Union in 2018, and the John F. Kennedy Prize awarded to outstanding PhDs graduating from the Weizmann Institute in 2017. His studies were supported by a Wolf Foundation Fellowship in 2015, the Otto Schwartz Award in 2014 – 2015, an Adams Fellowship from 2014 – 2017, the WorldQuant Foundation Scholarship and a Meyer Excellence Program Fellowship in 2011, the Freescale Israel Excellence Award for Undergraduate Students and an Alfred and Anna Grey Scholarship in 2008 and 2009.