The Annual Conference for Science and the Environment

The 2018 Annual Conference on Science and Environment

The annual conference on science and the environment is the main and the biggest forum dealing with all aspects of environmental science, policy, law and education in Israel. It provides an important platform for encounters between the scientific community and both the industry and the public. Every year, more than 800 participants including scientists from higher education institutions, decision makers, senior public-sector officials, industry representatives and environmental activists attend the conference due to the importance of integrating environmental considerations in their activities.

This year, the annual conference on science and the environment (which is also the 46th annual meeting of the Israel Society for Ecology and Environmental Sciences, ISEES) will be held in Rehovot in cooperation with the Weizmann Institute of Science on June 20th-21st. The theme of the conference is " Challenges in Environmental Sciences: from local to global scales". Over 20 international experts will participate in parallel sessions dealing with environmental challenges from a global perspective. In addition, environmental organizations, government offices, leading academics in the field and environment-oriented companies operating in Israel will emphasize the more local aspects. A special poster event that will provide an exciting opportunity to present and discuss the latest scientific results will be held at the end of each of the two days (see link below). In the evening, and throughout the week, a number of activities will be held in cooperation with the Rehovot Municipality throughout the city.

You are invited to explore the site and schedule the date of the conference. With the opening of registration, further details will be added on this website.



For additional activities related to the Conference please see the Hebrew site

Deadline for registration
June 10, 2018

Deadline for poster abstract submission
May 15, 2018

Organizing committee

  • Dan Yakir
    Weizmann Institute of Science

    Jonathan Müller
    Weizmann Institute of Science

    Tamir Klein
    Weizmann Institute of Science

    Ron Milo
    Weizmann Institute of Science

    Neta Lipman

    Marcelo Sternberg
    Tel Aviv University

    Orr Karassin
    Open University

    Hagai Levine
    Hebrew University of Jerusalem

    Orit Ben-Zvi Assaraf
    Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

    Yaron Ziv
    Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

    Yoav Yair
    IDC Herzlia

  • Moshe Ben Sason
    Ministry of science and technology


The Chorafas Institute for Scientific Exchange

The Morton Pickman International Conference Fund

Coordinator & Accessibility Issues

Irit Veksler